2020 Class of AGU Fellows Announced

2020 Class of AGU Fellows Announced

The members of this year’s class of Fellows have made exceptional contributions in our Earth and space sciences community through breakthrough, discovery, or innovation in their disciplines. Since 1962, AGU has elected fewer than 0.1% of members to join this prestigious group of individuals.

Thanks to their dedication and sacrifice, AGU Fellows serve as global leaders and experts who have propelled our understanding of geosciences. We are confident that they will remain curious and relentlessly focused on answers as they continue to advance their research, which pushes our boundaries of knowledge to create a healthy planet and beyond.

We are grateful for their invaluable contributions. We also recognize that numerous individuals were pivotal to their success, and we thank them too.

Since AGU Fall Meeting is online everywhere this year, we will host a virtual ceremony to celebrate the new class of Fellows as well as the other Honors and Recognition recipients on Wednesday, 9 December, at 3:00 p.m. PT/6:00 p.m. ET/23:00 UTC.

On behalf of AGU, we welcome to our community the 2020 AGU Fellows, listed below in alphabetical order, and we congratulate them on their well-deserved honor.

—Robin Bell, President, AGU; and LaToya Myles ([email protected]), Chair, Honors and Recognition Committee, AGU


2020 AGU Fellows

Rachel Abercrombie, Boston University

Mark A. Altabet, University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

Jean-Paul Ampuero, Institut de Recherche pour le Développement and Université Côte d’Azur

Brian Jay Anderson, The Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory

Denis Andrault, Université Clermont Auvergne

Janice L. Bishop, SETI Institute

Bernard P. Boudreau, Dalhousie University

Gordon E. Brown Jr., Stanford University

Larry D. Brown, Cornell University

Michael Brown, University of Maryland, College Park

Martyn P. Chipperfield, University of Leeds

Hugh Joseph Christian Jr., University of Alabama in Huntsville

John A. Church, University of New South Wales

William D. Collins, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and University of California, Berkeley

Rita R. Colwell, University of Maryland, College Park

Anne Davaille, Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique and University Paris-Saclay

Joost de Gouw, University of Colorado Boulder

Noah S. Diffenbaugh, Stanford University

Edward J. Dlugokencky, Global Monitoring Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Sherilyn Claire Fritz, University of Nebraska–Lincoln

Rong Fu, University of California, Los Angeles

Paul J. Hanson, Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Rainer Helmig, University of Stuttgart

Timothy D. Herbert, Brown University

Marika M. Holland, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Shafiqul Islam, Tufts University

Ralph A. Kahn, NASA Goddard Space Flight Center

Thomas R. Knutson, Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Yochanan Kushnir, Lamont Doherty Earth Observatory, The Earth Institute, Columbia University

Kate Lajtha, Oregon State University

Nadia Lapusta, California Institute of Technology

Ngar-Cheung Lau, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Jian Lin, Woods Hole Oceanographic Institution/South China Sea Institute of Oceanology/Southern University of Science and Technology

Gang Lu, National Center for Atmospheric Research

Barbara A. Maher, University of Lancaster

Cathryn A. Manduca, Carleton College

Larry A. Mayer, University of New Hampshire

I. Nicholas McCave, University of Cambridge

William H. McDowell, University of New Hampshire

Greg McFarquhar, University of Oklahoma

William Beall McKinnon, Washington University in St. Louis

Isabel Patricia Montañez, University of California, Davis

Athanasios Nenes, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Augusto Neri, Istituto Nazionale di Geofisica e Vulcanologia

Gregory S. Okin, University of California, Los Angeles

Dr. Glenn Scott Orton, Jet Propulsion Laboratory, California Institute of Technology

Aaron Packman, Northwestern University

George K. Parks, Space Sciences Laboratory, University of California, Berkeley

Josep Penuelas, Spanish National Research Council (CSIC) – Centre for Ecological Research and Forestry Applications (CREAF)

Laura J. Pyrak-Nolte, Purdue University

David M. Rubin, University of California, Santa Cruz

Zachary D. Sharp, University of New Mexico

Hanqin Tian, Auburn University

Hrvoje Tkalčić, The Australian National University

Remko Uijlenhoet, Delft University of Technology and Wageningen University & Research

Tonie van Dam, University of Utah

Isabella Velicogna, University of California, Irvine

Andrew W. Western, The University of Melbourne

Garry Raymond Willgoose, The University of Newcastle

Tandong Yao, Institute of Tibetan Plateau Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Qing-Zhu Yin, University of California, Davis

Chidong Zhang, Pacific Marine Environmental Laboratory, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration

Source link

#Class #AGU #Fellows #Announced

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *